Health Sciences

The Department of Health Sciences was founded in 2003 to support the Bachelor of Science and Masters of Science programs started in 2002 at Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam.

These programs have now been fully developed with an influx of between 150 and 200 new students starting every year. The programs are good examples of an academic training at the crossroads of many disciplines. Tuition and research are provided by academic staff of the Faculty of Science, the Faculty of Medicine, the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Faculty of Human Movement Sciences, the Faculty of Psychology and Education, and the Faculty of Economics and Business Administration.

The research program of the Department of Health Sciences has been established in close collaboration with the Institute for Extramural Research (EMGO Institute) of the Vrije Universiteit Medical Center.

There are five sections:

The Sections activities are devoted to public health. The definition of public health we use is "the science and art of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organised efforts and informed choices of society, organisations, public and private, communities and individuals”.

The Department has the following structure:
Director of the Department: Prof.Dr.Maurits W. van Tulder
Management Assistant: Drs. Heleen Heijstee
Coordinator Master's programme: Dr. Marianne Donker and Dr. Raymond Ostelo (researchmaster)